CMA Awards Nominations Announced

The nominees for the 52nd annual CMA Awards were announced Tuesday morning (Aug. 28) on Good Morning America.

Chris Stapleton tops the list of finalists with five nominations. Producer and musician Dann Huff receives four nominations, the second most nominations this year, while nine artists garner three each—Jason Aldean, Dierks Bentley, Dan + Shay, Florida Georgia Line, Chris Janson, Miranda Lambert, Midland, Thomas Rhett and Keith Urban.

Luke Bryan, Dan + Shay and Sugarland appeared on ABC’s “Good Morning America” today, live from Luke’s 32 Bridge Food + Drink, Bryan’s new restaurant and bar in downtown Nashville, to reveal six of the 12 categories on air. Immediately following the broadcast, Dan + Shay and Sugarland announced the remaining six categories in addition to the CMA Broadcast Awards nominees on as well as “Good Morning America’s” Facebook Live and simulcast on the top-rated show’s YouTube channel. The livestream was also viewed on CMA’s Facebook page.

“Today kicks off CMA Awards season where we get to honor the best of the best in our outstanding format,” said CMA Chief Executive Officer Sarah Trahern. “There were some great breakout performances this year and the diversity of the nominations honors new faces and some favorite returning names.”

Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood return for an 11th year to host “The 52nd Annual CMA Awards,” Country Music’s Biggest Night™, broadcasting live from Bridgestone Arena in Nashville Wednesday, Nov. 14 at 8/7c on the ABC Television Network.

Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Kenny Chesney
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Male Vocalist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

New Artist of the Year
Lauren Alaina
Luke Combs
Chris Janson
Brett Young

Single of the Year
“Broken Halos,” Chris Stapleton
“Drinkin’ Problem,” Midland
“Drowns The Whiskey,” Jason Aldean & Miranda Lambert
“Meant To Be,” Florida Georgia Line and Bebe Rexha
“Tequila,” Dan+Shay

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brothers Osborne
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Female Vocalist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Album of the Year
Chris Stapleton, From A Room: Vol. 2
Kacey Musgraves, Golden Hour
Keith Urban, Graffiti U
Thomas Rhett, Life Changes
Dierks Bentley, The Mountain

Song of the Year
“Body Like A Back Road,” Sam Hunt
“Broken Halos,” Chris Stapleton
“Drowns The Whiskey,” Jason Aldean w/Miranda Lambert
“Drunk Girl,” Chris Janson
“Tequila,” Dan+Shay

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion

Musical Event of the Year
“Burning Man,” Dierks Bentley ft. Brothers Osborne
“Dear Hate,” Maren Morris ft. Vince Gill
“Drowns The Whiskey,” Jason Aldean ft. Miranda Lambert
“Everything’s Gonna Be Alright,” David Lee Murphy and Kenny Chesney
“Meant To Be,” Bebe Rexha and Florida Georgia Line

Music Video of the Year
“Babe,” Sugarland ft. Taylor Swift
“Cry Pretty,” Carrie Underwood
“Drunk girl,” Chris Janson
“Marry Me,” Thomas Rhett
“Tequila,” Dan+Shay

Musician of the Year
Jerry Douglas – Dobro
Paul Franklin – Steel Guitar
Dann Huff – Guitar
Mac McAnally – Guitar
Derek Wells – Guitar